Some Merry Blessings

Josh and I were so incredibly blessed to spend Christmas back in Michigan. We flew in late on the 23rd and spent up until the 27th with my family in West Michigan. It was full of games, movies, cookies, and quality family time. We were also lucky to be able to bring our little pups with us.  We have him labeled as an emotional support dog and he rode by our feet on the flight.

 

This is Obie at the airport. He LOVED it. He made so many friends. Josh and I were very impressed with how he acted. If you have any questions about getting your dog to be an emotional support animal, let me know! I’d be happy to talk to you further about it. 

Our time at home was blessed with seeing friends, old co-workers, and family. We spent time going on long walks, laughing about old stories, and genuinely soaking up every conversation and hugs. It was a nice reminder of all the people Josh and I have in our lives, but at the same time makes me so incredibly sad. It is hard leaving a place with so much love and people who really “get” me. There are nights in Colorado where Josh and I feel deflated and empty.  Don’t get me wrong, we have some great quality friends in CO, but nothing to the multitude of Michigan. 

I know we are in the right place right now, but it is hard to feel so lonely when I know if we lived in Michigan it would be different. However, I will look back in 20 years and remember this first year of marriage with Josh and feel so blessed that we had this time to focus on our relationship without the distractions of other relationships or events. As lonely as I can get, I am grateful for the times I have Josh and all the adventures we are having. To all my Michigan people, thank you for all the love you make me feel. Know how much I appreciate you all. 

I also want to take this time to reflect on the greatest gift of all, Jesus. I am constantly growing in my faith, but each year I am still astounded by the gift we all received, especially around Christmas. Living with the peace that Heaven is close and the way was paved for me is so humbling. 

Merry late Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

