2016 in review.

I don’t know what everyone is talking about…2016 was good to me. Here is a recap on all that happened within this past year.


It began with my college graduation and starting an amazing job that taught me so much. img_3236img_3238


In January Josh and I were able to spend a weekend in Colorado to do a little skiing. We had no idea in a short 6 months we would be living here!

img_3394


In February we spent a weekend in Salt Lake City apartment hunting (we thought we were going to be moving there). We happened to visit the one weekend they had an inversion and we weren’t able to see the mountains at all. Huge bummer! Good thing its only a quick  hop skip and a jump over the mountains if we want to revisit!

img_3446


March was filled with lots of wedding showers and preparations. It was a blast to be surrounded by family and friends. We really enjoyed every second we got to spend with everyone.

img_3504img_3524


In April I ran my 4th half marathon with the best running partner I could have asked for. We will see if I can convince Morgan to run the Gazelle Girl again with me in 2017!

img_3652


The running continued…in May Josh and I ran the tulip time 5k with another favorite running buddy of mine. I don’t think I have ever laughed so much during a run. I might just have to come back to MI to run with Alex again in 2017!

img_1386


May continued to be a wonderful month…because WE GOT MARRIED! What What!!

Our wedding day flew by, I think we were both somewhat sad when it was over. It was such an amazing day, filled with so many wonderful people. I couldn’t have imagined it any better in my head. It was perfect!
img_3203


We then spent a week in the Dominican Republic. It was our first time experiencing an all-inclusive and I think we are both fans. We really enjoyed our time, especially getting to relax after some fairly busy weeks.

img_3913


And then right back at it. We lived in Portage, MI for about 3 weeks after our time in the Dominican Republic and then we picked up and moved to the great state of Colorado. We moved into our new apartment the weekend of July 4th and quickly began to explore our new backyard.

img_4289


Shortly after moving to CO (like 1 week) we decided to get a puppy! Obie had no idea what he was getting himself into, and neither did we! I remember the first 2 nights sleeping on the bathroom floor with him because he would not stop crying. Good thing he grew out of that quickly!

img_4320


We spent the rest of the summer/fall hiking around CO. Below is a pic of us hiking the flatirons which are near Boulder. Its about a 15 min drive from us. We really enjoy having so much to do around us, but it can be overwhelming sometimes!

img_4398


We hiked our first 14er! We had no idea what it was going to be like, but now that we have one under our belt, maybe next time we will be more prepared. Lets just say every possible weather condition happened while we were hiking.

img_4661


We have been fortunate to have lots of visitors so far. Josh’s parents have come out twice, his brother came out once, my parents have visited for a quick weekend, and we’ve also had some wonderful friends stay with us. This is Josh, Zach (his brother), and Obie on a hike near Vail.

img_5126


We cannot forget the most important (in Josh’s eyes) 2016 memory. THE CUBS WON! I am pretty sure Josh shed a few (or more) tears during this game. I on the other hand was more relieved that I wouldn’t have to watch any more baseball until April! Side note: there are a ton of cubs fans in CO. Way more than I expected!

img_5241


Over the course of the summer/fall Obie has made a best friend. We are so thankful for our neighbors! Obie loves his pal Kobe. We don’t know what we would do without them! I also thought this picture was too cute not to share.

img_5279


Josh and I hosted Thanksgiving! I have in the meantime learned there is a difference between a turkey bag and a basting bag. One of them is not oven safe/heat tolerant. Our first turkey may have tasted a little bit like plastic, good thing it was bpa free!

img_5321


Now that Winter is upon us, we plan on getting up to the mountains quite a bit. We are looking forward to snow and sun at the same time! (that never happens in Michigan).

img_5567


Obie, Josh, and I were able to enjoy Christmas back in Michigan and Illinois with family. As we gathered with everyone over the holidays we couldn’t help but feel joy regarding all that we were blessed with in 2016. So many unknowns turned into adventures and worries turned into triumphs. We are grateful for those who have supported us in our journey and cannot wait to see what is in store for 2017!

img_5440

 

“My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” John 15:12-13

Leave a Reply

